Fuelled by Social Alchemy

We fuel business internet marketing.

The Alchemist’s Way to Tweeting

leave a comment »


This is where I offer you tips ‘n’ tricks on the elements of social media!

Element: Twitter (what is twitter?)

At this present moment in time, I run 6 different twitter accounts; that’s posting different content, RT different content, responding to the people I follow and my followers – and all at the same time!

Twitter within a single web browser isn’t particularly helpful when you have as many accounts to run as I do – not only can you only have one login at a time, but you also have to flick between your conversation and the conversation you’re following.  However, there are several tools online which allow you to look after more than one account at a time. Hoorah!

The software I use is called TweetDeck.  I would recommend it to anyone!  It’s a “personal real-time browser, connecting you with your contacts across Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, LinkedIn… and more.”  You download the application to sit on your desktop (there’s also an iPhone and iPad application); set-up all your usernames and passwords and voila!

This is a screen grab of my TweetDeck.  You set up columns for each conversation – in this case, my first column “All Friends” is the conversation I follow; and my second column is “Mentions” (anyone who includes @michaelalaubs in their tweet).  All the other columns to the right hand side are the same, but for each of my accounts!

You can do the same for your Facebook, LinkedIn and Myspace accounts if you want to save time by having them all in the same place!  (personally, I prefer to update those areas myself!)  You can also search for other people’s profiles, have a hashtag or keyword search – and, most recently, you can pre-schedule tweets!

Written by Fuelled by Social Alchemy

22/06/2010 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

