Fuelled by Social Alchemy

We fuel business internet marketing.

A New Years Resolution…

with 2 comments


changes ahead

© iStockphoto

Happy New Year! We’re over a week into the New Year and still I can’t get my head around where the last year vanished to… 2012 already? Oh gosh…

I’ll try my hardest to keep this short and sweet but frankly I’m bursting with things to say; I realise that my outbound communications are rather sporadic at times and it seems like opportunities such as these are the only moments I get to air a few thoughts. Bear with me!

2011 has been an enormous career cornerstone, to say the least. Anyone who knows me will tell you that I am a huge fan of trial and error; I cannot tell you the future, however I can make logical decisions to move forward and I’m not afraid to deal with whatever comes my way.

This time last year I was a freelance social media manager; and I was BUSY! Too busy. The only logical step forward was to take my business to the next level; so in April, Fuelled by Social Alchemy Limited was born.

I thought being freelance was tough, but nothing could prepare me for being a director. Without delving into details, I can say that the past 9 months have been a total roller-coaster; a massive learning curve that, on one hand, I have no regrets about experiencing, but on the other have vowed to NEVER put myself through again. 2012 has to be a year for change.

Now, it wasn’t that 2011 was particularly hellish; I don’t have any major horror stories to tell of, nor is Fuelled by Social Alchemy Limited going anywhere. But in hindsight, I’ve learnt more about “what not to do” in a surprisingly short period of time, that it’s had quite a profound effect – a change I never saw coming!

It wasn’t all bad though! I’ve beaverd away over the Christmas period, reviewing my “long-term” clients (the ones I’ve managed for 2+ years now!) and my hard work and relentless persistence to boost their online reputation has paid off. Of course, there’s always room for improvement and 2012 is looking pretty exciting for generating content for these guys! I also, for the first time, have a year’s worth of solid statistics that I hope to share with you in the very near future.

Looking forward to 2012, some changes are already taking place…

From February my “assistant”, Lauren, will be leaving and I have no immediate plans to replace her. She’s been my right-hand gal for the past 7 months, tending to our clients’ needs. There’s no animosity towards this move, and I wish her all the best for the future – I’m most certain we’ll see each other again around Leeds!

This year, Social Alchemy will be offering a new service focusing on improving existing websites and blogs, as well as creating next-stage strategies. It’s something we’ve already done for our existing clients but this will be extended to a one-off service for new business as well. More details to come soon…

Lastly, my New Year’s resolution is to spend as much time blogging for Social Alchemy as I do for my clients! So, if there’s anything you would particularly like me to cover, please drop me an email to michaela@fuelledbysocialalchemy.com.

Thank you for reading. To a prosperous New Year!

Michaela Laubscher

Written by Fuelled by Social Alchemy

08/01/2012 at 3:35 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] A New Years Resolution… (socialalchemyuk.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] this immediate time, I could do with help from an analyst. As I mentioned before, I have a year’s worth of 2011 data and, if my January is anything to go by, very […]


Leave a Reply

