Fuelled by Social Alchemy

We fuel business internet marketing.

How long does it take to write a blog post?

leave a comment »


Copyright ©2012 iStockphoto®

I’ve got a long list of FAQs that I’ll be tackling over the next few weeks! Let’s start on one of my age old favourites: how long does it take to write a blog post?

In all honesty, the length of time depends on a variety of factors, such as:

  • Who is providing the content?
  • Is it a subject I’m familiar with?
  • Are pictures or videos needed? Are they provided?
  • Does it require proof reading, re-writing or fully writing?

That’s not to mention the kinds of distractions that appear throughout the writing process – emails, phone calls, Twitter, Facebook…

As an example, I’ve managed one client blog for almost 4 years; content is supplied by a submission form highlighting keywords and information, plus the artwork is supplied by email. I effectively translate the keywords into sentences; edit the images and upload; add hyperlinks and fill out all the back-end information (tags, trackbacks, seo) before scheduling to publish. Depending on the number of pictures to edit, these posts take me anywhere between 20 – 40 minutes to produce.

If the article requires any kind of research or image sourcing, a post will take at least an hour or two to be produced – not exactly a short period of time when you have a busy schedule!

This very post took me just under an hour to publish; that includes 20 minutes browsing iStock whilst factoring out the emails and phone calls distracting me throughout. I’ve been lucky; some of my previous posts received an additional few rounds of re-writing before making it live on here!

Whilst this may not be unusual to many a pro-blogger, it’s still surprising how many people I speak to who think, or initially thought, that good blogging takes little-to-no time at all. Sometimes, I wish they were right!

Written by Fuelled by Social Alchemy

31/01/2012 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

