Fuelled by Social Alchemy

We fuel business internet marketing.

How do I get people to LIKE my Facebook page?

with one comment


Copyright ©2012 iStockphoto®

Second in my series of FAQs and one that has popped into conversation a lot lately; how do I get people to like my Facebook page?

If you’re expecting a simple answer, I’m afraid to tell you that a one-size-fits-all solution doesn’t exist. Sorry! However, there are many ways you can use and manage your page more effectively to increase its popularity.

In my experience, SMEs tend to overlook some of the basics of running a Facebook page; purpose, content and find-ability:

Purpose starts with having a plan. It doesn’t have to be a detailed plan, however, you should at least identify who you are trying to communicate with and what you want to achieve with your page.

For example; “my page is for my customers to find out about my latest product updates; and feedback with any issues.”

By knowing about your ‘target audience’ – their age range, location and interests – you can tailor your content to suit their needs. Your content is from everything you post – your messages, pictures, links – to the apps you integrate and can decide, not only whether people LIKE but also interact and engage with your page.

That is assuming, of course, that your audience can find your page to LIKE it in the first place. Find-ability, as I like to call it, is determining how (not so) easy your page is to find. It can be as simple as having a Facebook button on your website or link in your email footer to let your audience know you have a page. There’s also the option of Facebook Adverts which can target your audience already on the platform.

From my experience, the success of a Facebook page is determined by the time and effort that you invest. Maintain a dedicated approach and you will nurture engaged followers over time.

Written by Fuelled by Social Alchemy

17/02/2012 at 4:44 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] How do I get people to LIKE my Facebook page? […]


Leave a Reply

